Advertisement - Continue Reading Below


The #ELLEBelles have been eagerly following the international awards season but now it’s time to focus a little closer to home.

The nominees for the 2014 South African Film and Television Awards were announced last night at the swanky VIP Supper Club in Sandton. With more entries than ever before, we’re excited to see watch our home-grown industry expanding.

Here’s who we have tipped for the top at this year’s SAFTAS:

Best Feature Film


This category is dominated by the blockbuster hit Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom. The inspiring film won us three golden globes and was nominated for Best Original Song at the Academy Awards this year. The film Of Good Report, another nominee in this category, has been recognized at various international film festivals and nominated in a number of categories at the SAFTAS this year. However, we can’t really see Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom missing out on this one.

Best TV Soap

We all have guilty pleasures and a classic local soapie has got to be one of them. This category is hotly contested and the nominees this year are all old favorites including Isidingo, Generations and Scandal. A relative newcomer to the scene, The Wild, may just scoop this one but the true favourite, however, appears to be Isibaya, with the most number of nominations and a high popularity amongst viewers which could be the decider in this public vote.

Best Actor in a Feature Film

Although Louw Venter’s moving performance in Die Laaste Tango has been widely acclaimed by South African audiences; we think this one is going to go to Mothusi Magano from Of Good Report. Magano, who is well known for his roles in Hotel Rwanda and Tsotsi, plays a young and introverted high school teacher who falls in love with one of his students. We’ve got our best on this intense thriller and reckon Magano’s powerful performance will earn him his first SAFTA.

Best Actress in a Feature Film

With only three nominees in the category it seems to be as competitive as ever. Antoinette Louw is nominated for her role in Deon Meyer’s new film Die Laaste Tango, for which she underwent an extreme transformation. The actress was fully committed to the role and shaved her long blonde locks off – we say this, along with her moving performance of a woman close to death, deserves her a SAFTA.

The #ELLEBelles will be cheering on our local talent on 4 April, hopefully you will be too! Let us know who you have tipped to win by leaving a comment below or tweeting us @ELLEMagazineSA #SAFTAS

Here is a list of some of the nominees:





Villa Rosa


7 de Laan

Rhythm City

The Wild


Best Actress in a TV Soap

Thembi Nyandeni Mkabayi Zungu in Isibaya

Celeste Ntuli as Siphokazi Zungu in Isibaya

Masasa Mbangeni as Thembeka in Scandal

Best Actor in a TV Soap

Sdumo Mtshali as Sbu Ndlovu in Isibaya

Bongani Gumede as Mandla in Isibaya

Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu in Isibaya

Best Ensemble in a TV Soap



The Wild

Best Director of a TV Soap

Adze Ugah and Denny Miller (Isibaya)

Sthembiso Mathenjwa (Isidingo)

Sanele Zulu (Scandal)

Best Writing Team of a TV Soap

Rosalind Butler (Isidingo)

Charlie Sapadin (Rhythm City)

Writing Team (Isibaya)

Best TV Drama


Tempy Pushas

Room 9

Best Actor in a TV Drama

Mthunzi Ntoyi as Zola Yili in Montana

Siyabonga Thwala as Musa in Intersexions

Antony Coleman David King High Rollers

Best Actress in a TV Drama

Tina Jaxa as Nokuthula in Intersexions

Cebile Mlaba as MaDlamini in Intersexions

Gcina Mkhize as Manzuza in Intersexions

Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama

Lidani Nkosi as Baba Khumalo in Dreamworld

Patrick Shai as Seakamela in Skeem Saam

Akhumzi Jezile as Ngulube in Tempy Pushas

Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama

Thembsie Matu as Sis Ribs in Rockville

Harriet Manamela as Meike Maputla in Skeem Saam

Motshabi Tyelele as Olga in 2020 Orlando

Best Director of a TV Drama

Intersexions Directing Team

Rockville Johnny Barbuzano

Tempy Pushas Libby Dougherty and Tebogo Malope

High Rollers Directing Team

Best Writing Team of a TV Drama

High Rollers Writing Team

Intersexions Brent Quinn, Gillian Breslin and Linda Bere

Rockville Gwydion Beynon and Phathu Makwarela

Room 9 Athos Kyriakides and Thuso Sibisi

Best TV Comedy

ZA News

Late Night News


Best Director of a TV Comedy

Kagiso Lediga (Late Nite News)

Segomotso Keorapetse (My Perfect Family)

Aaron Naidoo and Thierry Cassuto (ZA NEWS)

Best Actress in a TV Comedy

Meme Ditshego as Josephine Ga Re Dumele

Baby Cele as Portia Nkosi in My Perfect Family

Tsholo Monedi as Tiny in Skwizas

Lilian Dube as Mmane in Skwizas

Best Actor in a TV Comedy

Obed Baloyi as Tsutsuma in (Ga Re Dumele)

Boikie Pholo as Ratau in (Ga Re Dumele)

Mpho Osei-Tutu as Niko in (Samsokolo)

Best Writing Team of a TV Comedy

Kagiso Lediga and Karabo Lediga (Late Nite News)

Katleho Ramaphakela,Meren Reddy and Mpho Osei-Tutu (My Perfect Family)

Andrew Donaldson, Anne Hirsch, Marianne Thamm and Thierry Cassuto (ZA NEWS)

Best Ensemble in a TV Comedy

ZA News

Late Nite News

Ga Re Dumele

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below